Super C

From The Cutting Room Floor
Jump to: navigation, search

Title Screen

Super C

Also known as: Super Contra (JP), Probotector II: Return of the Evil Forces (EU)
Developer: Konami
Publisher: Konami
Platform: NES
Released in JP: February 2, 1990
Released in US: April 1990
Released in EU: 1992

DevTextIcon.png This game has hidden development-related text.
SoundtestIcon.png This game has a hidden sound test.
LevelSelectIcon.png This game has a hidden level select.
RegionIcon.png This game has regional differences.

So very stubbly.
This page is rather stubbly and could use some expansion.
Are you a bad enough dude to rescue this article?
Careful, you'll lose an eye.
This page needs more images.
There's a whole lotta words here, but not enough pictures. Please fix this.

Two John Rambos show up aliens.


Sound Test


A sound test full of Engrish is accessible by holding A + B and pressing Start on the title screen. Strangely, only the last melody ("MEDOLEY") locks the cursor in place while it plays.

Stage Select

Super Contra (J)-0.png

In the Japanese version, hold Down + Select at the title screen, then press Start. Select the area with Up / Down, then press Start to go there.

Regional Differences

To do:
List all differences, rip graphics.

The European version has many graphical differences:

  • The title screen was changed to Probotector II Return of the Evil Forces
  • The two main characters were changed into robots, and their names were changed from "Mad Dog" and "Scorpion" to "RD008" and "RCO11".
  • Four enemies were changed to robots in sidescrolling stages.
  • Three enemies were changed to robots in top-down stages.
  • The helicopter that drops off the heroes was changed to look more futuristic.
  • The first helicopter boss was changed to look more futuristic.

Build Dates

At the end of the PRG ROM is an ID with the date that version of the game was compiled. A similar ID is found in many other Konami games.

US Version EU Version JP Version
MAST891129 MAST920331 MAST891005

So the Japanese version was compiled on October 5, 1989, the US version on November 29, and the European version on March 31, 1992.