If you appreciate the work done within the wiki, please consider supporting The Cutting Room Floor on Patreon. Thanks for all your support!

NASCAR Thunder 2004 (PlayStation)

From The Cutting Room Floor
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Title Screen

NASCAR Thunder 2004

Developer: Budcat Creations
Publisher: EA Sports
Platform: PlayStation
Released in US: September 16, 2003

SoundIcon.png This game has unused sounds.
TextIcon.png This game has unused text.

NASCAR Thunder 2004 was the last NASCAR game for PlayStation (based on the last year for the NASCAR Winston Cup Series name, no less), still based on the NASCAR 2001 codebase.

Unused Audio

John Andretti has a leftover MRN, voiced by Joe Moore (but not PRN, for use at SMI-owned tracks) voice commentary clip, likely from NASCAR Thunder 2003. Andretti was replaced by Petty Enterprises from the #43 car mid-season by Christian Fittipaldi, a change so late that Fittipaldi is not mentioned by name by any of the radio announcers. (In other versions of the game, Fittipaldi's car is referred as "Cheerios Dodge", referring to the sponsor and make of the #43 car.)

Unused Driver Profile Data

NASCAR 2001, the base game for all NASCAR Thunder games on the PlayStation, displays the driver's sponsor and rookie year in addition to their current team, birthday and hometown. While the former two information is no longer shown in the NASCAR Thunder games, data for the driver's sponsor and rookie year are still stored in the driver profile, present in 0x2C127 on the console's RAM, while in the game's menu. The information appears to be mostly sorted in numeric order, with some exceptions; additionally, Busch Series drivers and legend drivers are mingled together.

Note that the sponsor information only apply to primary paint schemes and follows the spelling of how it appears on the profile data, and that the debut year of Busch Series drivers represent their full-time Winston Cup debut year; as such, they are set to 2003 if the Busch Series driver had never raced in the Cup Series full-time up to that point.

For readability purposes, driver names and numbers has been added, and this information is served in a table form.

No Driver Sponsor Rookie Year Notes
Winston Cup Series drivers
1 Jeff Green Pennzoil 1997
2 Rusty Wallace Rusty Wallace 1984 Miller Lite in real life.
5 Terry Labonte Kellogg's 1979
6 Mark Martin Mark Martin 1982 Martin's car in-game does actually have Pfizer logos on it in-game (in place of Viagra, Pfizer being it's manufacturer), just like the PlayStation 2/Xbox version; in real life, this sponsorship arrangement was used at the Subway 400 at Rockingham.
8 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2000 Budweiser in real life.
9 Bill Elliott Dodge Dealers 1976
11 Brett Bodine Hooters 1986
12 Ryan Newman ALLTEL 2001
15 Michael Waltrip NAPA Auto Parts 1986
17 Matt Kenseth DeWalt Tools 2000
18 Bobby Labonte Interstate Batteries 1993
20 Tony Stewart Home Depot 1999
22 Ward Burton Caterpillar 1994
24 Jeff Gordon Dupont 1993
29 Kevin Harvick GM Goodwrench, Service Plus 2001 Harvick's sponsor entry has a comma for some reason, unlike Earnhardt's (both shared the same sponsor as Harvick took over Dale's ride after his death)
38 Elliott Sadler M&Ms 1999
40 Sterling Marlin Chip Ganassi Racing 1983 Coors Light in real life; Marlin's car in-game feature his name written in Coors Light font.
42 Jamie McMurray Havoline 2003
43 Christian Fittipaldi Cheerios/Betty Crocker 2002
48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's 2002
88 Dale Jarrett United Parcel Service 1987 There is a huge gap of emptiness (consisting of 0A being written throughout) between Jimmie's (ends at 0x2C736) and Jarrett's data, which begins at 0x2C84A.
97 Kurt Busch Rubbermaid/Sharpie Ford 2001 The only driver with manufacturer mention on the car/sponsor.
99 Jeff Burton CITGO SUPERGARD 1994
0 Jack Sprague Net Zero 2003
01 Jerry Nadeau US Army 1997
Busch Grand National Series drivers and legend drivers
2 Ron Hornaday ACDelco Automotive 2001 Hornaday drove for A.J. Foyt Racing full-time in 2001, his only full-time Cup Series season. His Cup entry was not featured in any version of NASCAR Thunder 2002, however.
3 Dale Earnhardt Sr. GM Goodwrench Service Plus 1979
3 Junior Johnson undefined 1959
5 Brian Vickers GMAC 2003
7 Alan Kulwicki undefined 1986
8 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Nabisco 2000
9 Jeff Burton Kraft 1994
12 Bobby Allison undefined 1959 Piper Aircraft is his in-game sponsor; he is the only fully sponsored legend other than Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt.
18 Coy Gibbs MBNA America 2003
20 Mike Bliss Rockwell Automation 2003
23 Scott Wimmer Stacker 2 2003
28 Cale Yarborough undefined 1959
36 Bobby Wawak undefined 1976
43 Richard Petty STP 1959
55 Tiny Lund undefined 1959
64 Elmo Langley undefined 1959
112 Benny Parsons undefined 1970 Parsons' car does not have an actual number, as his car has NBC Sports logos in place of a racing number; the game assigns #112 for him.
99 Michael Waltrip Aaron's 1986 There is also a huge gap of emptiness (again, consisting of 0A being written throughout) between Parsons's (which ends at (ends at 0x2CE79) and Busch Series version of Waltrip's data, which begins at 0x2CF32.