We just released a Feb. 5 '89 prototype of DuckTales for the NES!
If you'd like to support our preservation efforts (and this wasn't cheap), please consider donating or supporting us on Patreon. Thank you!

S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team

From The Cutting Room Floor
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Title Screen

S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team

Also known as: Final Mission (JP), Action in New York (EU)
Developer: Natsume
Publishers: Natsume (JP/US), Infogrames (EU)
Platform: NES
Released in JP: June 23, 1990
Released in US: June 1991
Released in EU: 1992

GraphicsIcon.png This game has unused graphics.
LevelSelectIcon.png This game has a hidden level select.
RegionIcon.png This game has regional differences.

ProtoIcon.png This game has a prototype article

A solid shooter with a rather unfortunate title, where you play as the members of the titular attack team.


Read about prototype versions of this game that have been released or dumped.
Prototype Info

Unused Graphics

Unused Level 3 Boss Graphics

Final Version Early Version
Scat-fire-final.png Scat-fire-old.png

All three versions of this game contain incomplete set of graphics for the Level 3 boss backgrounds, but with different beams and damaged nozzles graphics. This extra set has no rocket launcher block graphics at all.

Unused Ending Graphics


There were more different silhouettes for the first player ending scene in the JP version of this game. In addition to optimized CHR data for the first and the second player's silhouettes, a game graphics bank contains three more rather unused combined player silhouettes. On the picture above, two unused silhouettes are standing to the right of the original final version for the player one silhouette. The US and EU versions have completely different ending graphics.

Regional Differences


  • The usual title and copyright changes.
Japan USA Europe
SCAT JP Copyright.png SCAT US Copyright.png SCAT EU Copyright.png
  • Aside from the title and logos being completely different between versions, the Japanese title scrolls in from the right, and the logo gradually scrolls in from the top down and changes color when it stops moving. The other versions scroll in from the left with no other animation. The Japanese and USA versions of the game also feature a sound effect, while the European title screen is silent.
Japan USA Europe
SCAT JP Title.png Scat-title.png SCAT EU Title.png
  • In the Japanese version, you start with three hit-points instead of six in the other versions.
  • The options move on their own in the Japanese version, automatically moving behind your character as they turn. In the other versions, they also move around on their own, but can be frozen in place by pressing a button.
  • In the Japanese version, the player loses any weapon they obtain after getting hit once. This was changed in the other versions so that the player only loses their weapon if they get a game over.
  • In the Japanese version, the death animation has your character disintegrating, while in the other versions they explode into blue balls, Mega Man style.
  • When starting the game, the Japanese version only gives you a screen with the stage number while other versions show you a map that shows future levels, your score, the high score and a life counter along with a rather good sounding voice sample wishing you luck.
Japan US/Europe
SCAT JP GameStart.png SCAT GameStart1.png
Japan US/Europe
SCAT GameStart2.png


To do:
Upload a video of the Japanese and US (or EU) intro cutscenes.

The introduction is completely different between the Japanese release and the US/EU release. While it is largely the same in the US and European releases, the text was still slightly changed. The names of the playable characters and the villain were changed, along with their birthplace and affiliation. Mentions of 'S.C.A.T' were also edited out from the text. Additionally, the US version ends the intro on the word 'S.C.A.T' scrolling past the screen, while the European version shows a brief gray screen in its place. Oddly, the European version also seems to use a slightly modified font, with a different lower-case 'S'.

US Europe
SCAT US Intro1.png SCAT EU Intro1.png
US Europe
SCAT US Intro2.png SCAT EU Intro2.png
US Europe
SCAT US Intro4.png SCAT EU Intro4.png
US Europe
SCAT US Intro3.png SCAT EU Intro3.png

Cheat Codes Difference

All versions of the game have button codes for starting on certain stages with a certain command for each individual stage. Here is the list of codes, should be entered on controller 1:

  • A + Start - Level 2
  • B + Start - Level 3
  • Right + Start - Level 4
  • Left + Start - Level 5

There are some difference between activation codes.

Japanese Version

All cheat codes must be activated by following button code: at the title screen hold A + B on controller 2. Levels 2 to 5 are selectable. Exclusive to the JP version is code to view the ending (Up + Start on controller 1). Extra lives code (Select + Start on controller 1) gives 10 lives only (US and European versions gives 12).

US Version

Level select codes activation is the same as for JP version, but only levels 2 to 4 are selectable. Extra lives activation code is changed, you must hold A + B + Up on controller 2, then just press Start on controller 1.

European Version

Exclusively to EU version, the activation code is completely different. To enable cheats, you must enter the button sequence A, B, Right, Left, A, B, Up, Down, Select on controller 1 (not 2!). In this version however, the extra lives code is the same as ending code in the JP version (Up + Start on controller 1).