Please consider supporting The Cutting Room Floor on Patreon. Thanks for all your support!

Ghosts'n Goblins (NES)

From The Cutting Room Floor
Jump to: navigation, search

Title Screen

Ghosts'n Goblins

Also known as: Makaimura (JP)
Developer: Micronics
Publisher: Capcom
Platform: NES
Released in JP: June 13, 1986
Released in US: November 1986
Released in EU: March 23, 1989


CopyrightIcon.png This game has hidden developer credits.
DebugIcon.png This game has debugging material.
LevelSelectIcon.png This game has a hidden level select.
RegionIcon.png This game has regional differences.


A conversion of the Arcade original. Ghosts'n Goblins is one of the most brutally difficult NES games released. You feel strongth welling in your body, Return to starting point. Challenge again!

Level Select

Ghosts 'N Goblins (NES)-levelselect.png

Hold Right and press A or B or both three times. Release Right and press Up, B (x3), Left, B (x3), Down, B (x3), Start. After the "PLAYER READY" screen, a number and a letter will appear. Press A or B to select a starting level and press Start to begin the game.

Hidden Credits

Ghosts 'n Goblins (NES)-credits.png

Complete both quests, then at the "...CHALLENGE AGAIN!" screen, press A, B, Up, Down, A, B, Left, Right and wait for the "GAME OVER" message. Instead of it, a credits screen will appear.

Regional Differences

Title Screen

Famicom NES
Makaimura Ghosts'n Goblins

The title screen was changed for pretty obvious reasons. The copyright text was also updated.

Cross

Famicom NES
Holy Cross Holy Shield

Like in the Arcade versions, the Cross weapon was changed to a Shield.

Continue

While the NES version include a Continue option on the title screen, you need to use a tedious code in the Famicom version: At the title screen, Hold Right and press A or B three times, then press Start.

European Version

When the player gets a game over in the European version of Ghosts'n Goblins, the selection arrow on the title screen is defaulted to the "Continue" button, the US and Japanese version has defaulted to the usual "1 Player" button after a Game Over.